#### PEACE LUTHERAN CHURCH

## APPROVED 2023 Annual Congregational Meeting

January 28, 2024

Welcome given by President Mike Rupp. Following Robert Rules of Order. We have a quorum.

- I. Call to Order: Call to order at 10:25 a.m.
- **II. Opening Prayer**: Opening prayer lead by Pastor David Hanson
- **III. Open Forum**: None

### IV. Adopt Agenda:

Motion to adopt Annual Meeting Agenda as written. Mark Nissen / Greg Tesch / Carried

#### V. Approve Congregational Meeting Minutes:

- a. Special Congregational Meeting January 15, 2023
- b. 2022 Congregational Meeting Minutes held on Sunday, January 29, 2023.

Motion to approve the congregational meeting minutes held on January 29, 2023.and the special congregational meeting held on January 2023. Chuck Venske / Wayne Kuehn / Carried

#### VI. Nominating Committee Ballot Presentation Given by Kelsie Simon:

- a. Ministry Board Positions (3-Year Term) Vote for Two: Karen Dressel, Teri Dressel, Marla Erickson, and Jon Peterson
- b. Nominating Committee (2-Year Term) Vote for Three: Dan Juncewski, Diane Malmin, Jessica McGowan, Bob Rieckenberg, Harlan Sundblad, and Greg Tesch.
- c. Discussion on the wording of the Constitution change regarding Absentee Voting led by President Mike Rupp.

#### VII. Reports

- a. Pastor's Report given by Pastor David Hanson.
- b. Director of Youth & Family Report given by Mark Nissen.
- c. Ministry Board Report given by Mike Rupp.

#### VIII. Recognition of Ministry Teams

# IX. 2023 and 2024 Finance Review Presented by Dan Cowger, Finance Chair and Judy Jacobson, Financial Administrator.

- Audit Report of 2023 Financial Records Done by an independent agency, Jeanne Matter CPA, and found our books to be in order. Verified accurate.
- Review of 2023 Finance Report –Dan reviewed income and expenses.
- Proposed 2024 Budget Dan discussed the 2024 budget forecasting a balanced budget for 2024.

#### Motion to approve 2024 Budget: Duane (Dewey) Swenson / Beth Seefeldt / Carried

#### X. New Business:

• John Weinzierl, head of Property Team, announced all the fluorescent lights in the church will be changed over to LED lights thanks to a donation from a member.

#### XI. Nominating Committee Election Results Presented by Mary Fritz-Barfnecht

- Elected Nominating Committee Members for the 2024 year serving a 2-year term are: Diane Malmin, Bob Rieckenberg, and Greg Tesch
- Elected Ministry Board Members for the 2024 year serving a 3-year term are: Karen Dressel and Jon Peterson
- Constitutional Amendment on Absentee Ballots Passed

Motion for Mike Rupp to be President of the Congregation was made by Jake Jacobson / Edie Hanson / Carried

Motion to destroy ballots: Bill Helfritz / Larry Cramb / Carried

- XII. Thank You Past Ministry Board Members, Past Nominating Committee Members and Candidates
- XIII. Adjournment: Closing statement from the president of the congregation, Mike Rupp.

Motion to adjourn Duane (Dewey) Swenson / Megan Weaver / Carried

Meeting Adjourned at 11:19 a.m.

XIV. Closing Prayer: Closing Prayer by Pastor David Hanson.